skip to Main Content

AHLA Announces Leadership Changes | TravelPulse

The American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA) announced its 2022 Officers, Board of Directors and Executive Committee.

AHLA is launching a new strategic plan to guide the future of the association as travel continues to recover from the coronavirus pandemic, and its leadership core includes top leaders representing all segments of the hospitality industry.


Apple Hospitality REIT, Inc. CEO Justin Knight succeeds Hyatt Hotels Corporation CEO Mark S. Hoplamazian as chair of the board, who spent the last year in charge and becomes immediate past chair.

Trending Now

Travel technology, man with airplane and laptop

Other changes to the leadership team include RLJ Lodging Trust CEO Leslie D. Hale being named vice chair, Hilton President of Global Development Kevin Jacobs being named secretary/treasurer and RLJ Lodging Trust Executive Vice President Tom Bardenett being named chair of the AHLA Foundation Board of Trustees.

“As we look ahead to 2022 and beyond, I’m incredibly proud of the depth of experience our Officers, Executive Committee and Board members bring to the table, and that these individuals represent the most diverse group of leaders in our association’s history,” AHLA president and CEO Chip Rogers said.

“We are grateful to these individuals for volunteering their time and energy to ensure that AHLA and our industry are successful as we continue moving toward recovery,” Rogers continued.

New members of the board appointed to two-year terms in 2022 include:

—Mark Carrier, President, B.F. Saul Company Hospitality Group

—Antoine Chahwan, President Hotel Operations, Americas East, Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts

—Greg Friedman, Managing Principal, Chief Executive Officer, Peachtree Hotel Group

—Greg Juceam, Chief Operating Officer, ESA Management LLC

—Daniel Kornick, Chief Information Officer, Loews Hotels & Co. (representing HTNG)

—James Merkel, CEO, Rockbridge Holdings

—Lynn D. Minges, President & CEO, NCRLA (representing ISHA)

—Ravi Patel, President, Hawkeye Hotels

—Keith Pierce, EVP, President Franchise & Development, Sonesta International Hotels Corporation

—Amb. Gordon Sondland, Founder and Chairman, Provenance Hotels

—Jonathan Stanner, President & CEO, Summit Hotel Properties, Inc.

—Richard Stockton, President & CEO, Braemar Hotels and Resorts

—Larry Trabulsi, EVP & Managing Director, CHMWarnick (representing HAMA)

Additionally, AHLA welcomed five new members to its Executive Committee, which serves as the association’s core governance body and guides its policy agenda. New representatives on the Executive Committee include:

—Lawrence Cuculic, President & CEO, Best Western International, Inc.

—Michael J. Deitemeyer, President and CEO, Aimbridge Hospitality

—Carlos R. Flores, President & CEO, Sonesta International Hotels Corporation

—Sheila C. Johnson, Founder & CEO, Salamander Hotels & Resorts

—Mitch Patel, President and CEO, Vision Hospitality Group Inc.

Source link

Back To Top
Covid19 Live Updates